Gluten Free, Vegan Apple Crisp

So the weather in “sunny” Southern California hasn’t been living up to it’s name lately. It’s been off and on between the extremes of 93 degree weather to cold, gloomy 60 degree weather… in the middle of April. What happened to Spring??!?!

Because it feels like Autumn with random days of Summer I thought I’d make a variation of one of my favorite Autumn time breakfasts desserts. ;) It’s perfect with a banana and a cup of decaf coffee or Good Earth tea in the morning… yummm! I decided to make a gluten free, vegan/dairy free version of my apple crumble to satisfy my craving. WOW am I glad I experimented because I think this version is even BETTER than my original recipe. I know!!

So have fun making this! My sister always teases me when I make my crazy food modifications, and when she asked whether this was gluten & dairy free I waited till after she ate it to tell her… and I’m pleased to announce that everyone in my family enjoyed it! Yay!

 

P.S. This is an even healthier version of my other recipe. This is about half the amount of servings as my original recipe but still has less sugar and more nutritious ingredients. I used chia seeds which are great for your health, ground flaxseed which is also good for you, and the vegan butter made it a cholesterol free recipe! AND since I replaced a lot of the sugar with Agave Nectar, it has a lower Glycemic Index. This means the release of glucose into the blood is slower, minimizing the blood sugar spike. Although any type of added sugar/sweetener is not a “healthy” option, this substitute seems to have a benefit over regular sugar.

Click on the links for more information…
-Benefits of Chia Seeds
      *I buy mine at Sprouts in the bulk section. Don’t freak out at the price,

they hardly weigh anything so $7.99/lb will buy you plenty!!

-Benefits of Flaxseeds
       *I buy ground flaxseed at Sprouts in the bulk section. Ground flaxseed

doesn’t last as long as whole flaxseed, so if you want to buy whole seeds
(Trader Joes has good prices) you can grind them yourself in a coffee grinder.

- Benefits of Agave Nectar
       *I buy Organic Blue Agave Sweetener at Trader Joe’s, in the baking aisle near the maple syrup.


**Makes 6-8 servings**

25 min prep, 30 min bake, total: about an hour

What You’ll Need:

• 3 cups granny smith apples, skinned and diced (about 3 apples)
• ½ a lemon (juice)

• ½ cup white rice flour
• 1 ½ cup GF oats

• ¼ cup ground flaxseed
• ¼ tsp salt
• 2 Tbsp cornstarch
• 2 Tbsp chia seeds
• ¼ cup white sugar
• 1 teaspoon unpacked brown sugar

• ½ cup Earth Balance Butter, softened (NOT melted!)

• ½ cup agave nectar
• ½ tsp vanilla extract

• ½ tsp cinnamon

Recipe:

1.  Take the butter out of the fridge to soften (do NOT melt).

2.  Peel and dice up the apples into small cubes.
I only had 2 Granny Smith Apples so I used an Ambrosia Apple for the third,
and it came out just as good! I just prefer Granny Smith for baking.


3.  Squirt with the juice of half a lemon, mix and set aside.

4.  Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees.

5.  Combine the rice flour, oats, ground flaxseed, salt,
cornstarch, chia seeds, brown sugar and white sugar in a bowl.


6.  Cut the butter into the dry ingredients.
Use your hands or fork to work it into the dry ingredients.


7.  Add ¼ cup of the crumb mixture with the apples. Add the cinnamon, mix and set aside.


8.  Add the agave nectar and vanilla extract to the remaining crumb mixture. Mix.


9.  Lightly grease 8×8 glass pan. Take ½ of your remaining crumb mixture and press it into the bottom of the pan. Bake for 5 minutes.


10.  Remove the crust from the oven, pour in the apple mixture and top with last of the crumbs. Put it back in the oven for another 25 minutes.

Sooooo good! :)

download printable recipe here: Gluten Free, Vegan Apple Crisp Recipe – Jessica Fabela

One thought on “Gluten Free, Vegan Apple Crisp

  1. Omg!!! I just made this for Thanksgiving because I just went vegan and gluten free this year and i didn’t want to go without my apple cranberry crisp which has always been my favorite part of the dinner! So i used your amazing recipe and doubled it and instead of adding 3 more cups of apples i added 3 cups of cranberries!!! This crisp tastes amazing!!! Thank you so much it will be a staple in my house from now on!!!

Leave a Reply

