Valentine’s Day Dinner

Yesterday that holiday came around again which brings up a variety of feelings in a community. For those with a “special someone” it is usually a very nice day, for those without it can be hard or just another day, depending on where that person is in life. I hope for all of you it was a day of love, for people in general.

I came across this quote in a book I was reading last year around Valentine’s day and I absolutely loved how beautiful it portrayed God’s love for us, especially for us gals! It came right after a difficult week, God’s got His perfect timing for sure!

“Every song you love, every memory you cherish, every moment that has moved you to holy tears has been given to you from your first breath in order to win your heart. God’s version of flowers and chocolates and candlelight dinners come in the form of sunsets and falling stars, moonlight on lakes and cricket symphonies; warm wind, swaying trees, lush gardens, and fierce devotion. . . . We have missed many notes simply because we shut our hearts down in order to endure the pain of life. . . we must choose to open our hearts again so that we might hear His whispers, receive His kisses.”
– Staci Eldredge


photo source here.

I love it. God is my romances me every day through his creation and gifts in my life.

 

Since I didn’t have a special someone to spend the evening with, I chose to make dinner for the special someoneS in my life, my family.

the menu:
– Chicken Parmesan
– Bruschetta with roasted garlic
– Heart shaped cheese ravioli  (my mom made this)
– Chocolate covered Strawberries (she made this too!)

 

here’s how to pull it off!

 

Parmesan Chicken Mix

Crumb mixture: Coats 8-10 lbs. Boneless chicken (24 servings)
4 slices soft whole wheat bread (4 cups crumbs)
1 ¼ cups Parmesan cheese
½ teaspoon garlic powder
¼ cup dry parsley flakes
½ teaspoon salt

Parmesan Chicken:


– 3/4 cup melted butter (OR 3/4 cup nonfat milk)
– Chicken (about 12 tenderloins)
– Bread crumbs

**If you don’t have enough bread or don’t have much time, you can use store bought crumb mixture and add parmesan cheese to it. Time was an issue for me so I used store bought crumbs and added a little bit more garlic salt and italian seasoning to the mixture**

 

1. Thaw chicken. I used 12 chicken tenderloins… costco’s the way to go!

2. Dip thawed chicken into melted butter. You may also use nonfat milk for a healthier option. I used my hands, it was a quicker process and allowed me to cover the chicken more thoroughly.

Here’s my assembly line all set up!

3. Coat with crumb mixture

4. Place in a single layer on sprayed baking dish.

5. Garnish with parsley flakes.

6. Cook uncovered at 375 degrees until tender.
Cover with foil if the top gets too brown before it is done.

Roasted Garlic
1. Cut off the top of garlic to expose most of the cloves.
2. Brush olive oil on top
3. Add black pepper on top
4.  Wrap in foil, leaving a hole at the top.
(I usually wrap it around my index finger).
Place in muffin pan.

5. Cook at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes or so, until golden brown.

Rub on toasted bread. 🙂

 

Bruschetta
Ingredients:
-Tomatoes, basil leaves, onion, garlic, black pepper, mozzarella cheese

1. Chop tomatoes (I used about 2 cups of grape tomatoes)

2. Cut about 4 basil leaves
3. Chop onion
4. Mince garlic
5. Add black pepper
6. Cut mozzarella cheese into small pieces
(either from a block or even easier…from string cheese!)

Place topping in refrigerator while bread is prepared.

7. Cut a french baguette into thin, diagonal slices. Place on baking pan.

8. Brush olive oil on top of slices.

9. Place in broiler for a few minutes.
**Be careful! The bread ‘toasts’ very quickly, you don’t want it to be too crispy**

10. After garlic is roasted, spread onto each slice before serving, then add tomato topping.

Ta Da!!!

SOOOO goood! In highschool my friend Krista and I used to make bruschetta EVERY time we hung out… whether it was 6 pm or 2 in the morning. Of course back when we couldn’t drive we used whatever ingredients we had in our house but it still always came out delicious 🙂

Here are the chocolate covered strawberries & ravioli’s my mom made, I don’t eat dairy so I passed but everyone else seemed to enjoy them!

how cute are they?!?!

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.”

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (ESV)

 

Leave a Reply

