7 Secrets to Fighting Nausea

Hey there! In the past few years I’ve had to come up with some ways to fight constant nausea. Sometimes this nausea was from migraines, motion sickness, smells, the result from nasty food or of course the mysterious reason that just made me nauseous all day. For anyone who has dealt with this on any scale you know how irritating it can be, especially when you are in public and have to continue on with your daily activities.

jessicafabela

Nausea can be a problem in those with gastroparesis, fibromyalgia, migraines, IBS and obviously those who are pregnant. I hope this advice helps all of you out who get nauseous from time to time or for those who suffer from it quite frequently. These tips can help MANY. Remember, I’m not a doctor or God so I can’t promise you it will work for you but it is definitely worth a try. If you believe your nausea is a health concern, please contact your doctor.

 1. Fresh Air

   It may seem like a given but it is an important and easy one to start out with. Our bodies love being in fresh air. Even if its too cold or hot outside to spend a lot of time outdoors, spending just 15 minutes sitting down outside can significantly help nausea. Easy peasy!

2. Ginger

jessicafabela

Ginger is my best friend. I buy this in bulk in stores like Sprouts and keep it everywhere I go. At home I keep a a jar of crystalized ginger on my desk to snack on when I begin to feel nauseated.  I carry some in a bag with me to keep in my purse and backpack and snack on it during class as well. You can make your own crystalized ginger for cheap and relatively easy! Check out this site.  It may take awhile to get used to the flavor if you don’t  already like it but after trying small amounts of time you’ll begin to love it!

3. Ginger Peach Tea

Speaking of ginger… here’s another one of my favorites. Sometimes drinking tea makes me more nauseous but this one has never had that affect on me. I buy it at Fresh & Easy and I’m sure you could find other varieties in other stores.

4. Snacks
(Saltine Crackers)

I’m sure a lot of you know about this one. These crackers are famous in my house when someone is recovering from the stomach virus. They are plain so they don’t irritate the stomach too easily. Snacking is important to keep away nausea. Going without food for too long will make you nauseous, so even if you are nauseous from something else it is important to snack every now and then.

5. Spearmint Tea

I am growing spearmint and it so easy and convenient to make a quick cup of spearmint tea with my leaves. If you have a french press just pull some leaves off and place in the press with hot water. If you don’t have one, pick some leaves and leave to steep in your cup for a few minutes.

Or… buy some packaged tea from the store! 😉

6. Spearmint & Peppermint Gum

Next time you’re out shopping pick up some sugar free gum & keep it in your bag to chew on when your stomach begins to get queasy.

7. Sea Band Bracelets

These are lifesavers! Next time you’re going on a boat ride, car ride, or don’t mind walking around with these on, wear them! These cloth bracelets work by placing a ‘button’ on your wrist which triggers a pressure point that relieves nausea. I have heard these work great for chemo, morning sickness and I know they have worked for all of my nausea causes. You can find these at many drugstores like CVS for about $10 or online here. They come in both adult & kid sizes.

Hope you find this useful! 🙂 Let me know if you have tried any or know of any more tips!

 

One thought on “7 Secrets to Fighting Nausea

  1. thanks, hope this will help me to not almost faint next time I give blood lol (I know about drinking a lot of water and eating but I get nausea)

Leave a Reply

