Slow Cooker Chicken Posole Recipe

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted… but I have valid excuses! I graduated from college, moved back home, got engaged, got married, and moved states… I think I deserved a little break ūüôā

The first time Matt ever got one of my grandparent’s home cooked meals was on Christmas Eve 3 years ago. I always raved about how good my family cooks, especially on the holidays and we were blessed with the best
homemade Posole soup Christmas Eve for dinner.

He has not stopped raving about it since that day and has always wanted me to make it, so now that I got a Crock Pot I decided to try it out! This is hands down one of my favorite meals, and even makes a great snack!

My grandma’s recipe varied slightly from my mothers, and my recipe varies slightly from both since I combined theirs together and made it in a slow cooker instead of on the stove. It tastes DELICIOUS! And it freezes quite nicely!

Here is my revised version of my grandma Lorraine’s and my mom’s recipe:

(fits into 5-6 qt slow cooker… half of the recipe fits into 3 qt)
Serves 10-12 people

6 cups of water
2 cans of chicken broth (around 28 oz)
3-4 chicken breast halves (skinned & boneless)
2-3  15 to 16 oz. cans of white hominy, drained. (depending on how much you like hominy.. we used about 40 oz)
2 ¬†10-14 oz cans Mexican style stewed tomatoes (OR tomatoes with green chilies…see jalepe√Īo note below)
4  tsp. dried oregano
1 ¬†jalape√Īo chile, seeded and minced ¬†(omit if you use tomatoes with green chilies)
1  1/2 cups shredded lettuce
3/4 cup sliced radishes
3/4 cup sliced green onions
1  1/2 cups grated Monterey Jack cheese (colby jack also works great!)
chopped cilantro (optional)
tortilla chips (slightly crushed) (optional)

Add the water, chicken broth, chicken, hominy, tomatoes, oregano, jalapeno and a dash of hot pepper sauce to soup.

Cook on LOW for 6-8 hours (check chicken to make sure it is not overcooking)
It should be closer to 6 hours, since we are cooking at 5,000 ft!

Shred chicken with fork, or cut into pieces using kitchen scissors.

Prepare sides

Add shredded lettuce, radishes and green onions to bottom of individual soup bowls, then soup, top with cheese.

ENJOY!

(We took ours out to eat on the front porch so we actually
put the sides on top, which tastes just as good!)

Printable Recipe Here

I can’t wait to go home and spend Christmas with my crazy family this year!

‚ô•

One thought on “Slow Cooker Chicken Posole Recipe

Leave a Reply

