Newlywed Recipes – Marsha’s Salsa

My sisters, family & friends threw me a super cute, amazing bridal shower this summer for my wedding. One of my favorite parts of it were the recipes that were given to me from friends and family, all coordinated by my wonderful maid and maiden of honors (aka the best sisters ever). I love cooking, baking, and taking other people’s recipes and turning them into my own. So what could be better than receiving tons of great recipes (obviously great if my family makes & eats these recipes)?!!

I decided to try each of these recipes out (my husband is always open to new recipes) and post some blogs on how I made them, tips, pictures and a little story about how I know that person! Because of my food allergies & restrictions, I will be making some changes simply because I can’t eat a certain ingredient, but I will still post the original recipe for those who aren’t as restricted with food 🙂

First up… Marsha’s salsa!

I made this salsa about two months actually but I have made it probably over 3 times since I tried it out. It is perfect! My husband and I love our salsa and although I always made really good batches, I never wrote down a recipe so it was a little more time-consuming guesstimating and taste testing it until it tasted perfect. But this recipe solves all of those problems!

I got this recipe from my Aunt Heidi’s mother, Marsha. Even though she is related by marriage, we love when she celebrates birthdays, holidays and other celebrations with us. She has such a sweet heart and great cooking. I think my Aunt’s baking skills were passed down from her mom 🙂

Marsha’s Salsa
(makes about 1 1/2 pints of salsa)

– 2 Cans whole tomatoes, drained (I prefer using 2 cans diced tomatoes to give it the perfect consistency)
– 1 onion (I used 1/2 large sweet onion)
– 2 jalepeños (no seeds, unless you like it more spicy!)
– 1 bunch cilantro (I used about 1/2 bunch from the grocery store)
– 2-3 cloves garlic
– 1 lime
– pinch of salt
– pinch of cumin (I use at least 1 tsp)

Put in blender (food processor works best! yay for wedding gifts!!!)
**I only put one can of tomatoes in blender, and added the second after initially blended**


Blend, Blend, Blend!!

Add second can of tomatoes (diced, whole or 4 Roma tomatoes)

Blend, Blend, Blend!
Adding the second half of the tomatoes after the rest is already blended
helps the salsa to be a little more on the chunky side, which we LOVE)

Matt taste-testing the salsa!

YUM YUM YUM!!!

SUCH a great recipe, with the perfect balance of spicy and yumminess of all of the other flavors!!
Thank you, Marsha 🙂

Printable Recipe Here

 

One thought on “Newlywed Recipes – Marsha’s Salsa

  1. What an incredibly sweet idea by your friends and family! I’m new to your blog, and I absolutely love it! The name really caught my attention. a sweet hallelujah! It’s wonderful to meet another woman of God in this blog world ;). I LOVE salsa and Marsha’s salsa sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

