Newlywed Recipes – Great Grandma’s Persimmon Pudding

Time for another recipe! I wish I would just copy every single recipe from my grandparents because they all taste so delicious! I always looked forward to holidays with either side of the family because of their delicious dishes! For my bridal shower recipe card, my Nana Lorraine gave me her mother’s (my great-grandma’s) Persimmon Pudding recipe.

DSC_0079xx

DSC_0062x

To be honest, I was a little skeptical at first, not ever having tasted persimmon before as well as not being the biggest fan of pudding. But this recipe pleasantly surprised me! Not only do persimmons taste SOO good, the pudding is less like the chocolate and vanilla pudding we’re used to and is more of the old-fashioned pudding that has the texture of bread. If you are a fan of pumpkin bread, I guarantee you’ll enjoy this recipe!

One of the things that comes along with baking a type of recipe that you’ve never baked anything similar to is deciphering how to cook it and what it’s supposed to look like! One of the ingredients is sweet milk and myself as well as a few others had no idea what that meant… sweetened condensed milk? milk with sugar added? evaporated milk?
After my Nana made the point that they didn’t have cans of sweetened condensed milk back when my great-grandmother baked this I decided to look it up. Sweet milk is just a term they used back then to distinguish fresh milk from milk that had gone sour. Since soured milk was used in recipes like cakes, fresh milk was important for other recipes such as this one. Regular milk it is… problem solved!

Now it was time to make this thing!!

Ingredients

Persimmon Pudding
serves 6-8

  • 1 cup persimmon pulp (about 4 persimmons… depending on size)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sweet milk (regular milk)  (or almond milk for vegan recipe)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. butter (or Earth Balance)

Lemon Sauce

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 Tbsp hot water
  • 1/2 cup butter (or Earth Balance)
  • 1 egg (or 1 tsp cornstarch or 1 flax egg for those who don’t want to use raw eggs)
  • juice & rind of 1/2 lemon

Look how hard easy the recipe is to make…

Combine ingredients.

DSC_0021x

 Beat well.

DSC_0023x

🙂 that’s it… well now onto baking it!

Steam or bake in buttered pan.

I couldn’t find a bundt pan at the time (which is the preferred way of baking this) but my mom had jumbo muffin tins. So instead of doing the baking in the oven I did it over the stove.

  • Divide the mix into the tins,  cover with parchment paper and seal with a rubber band.
  • Put foil under it so when the water boils/steams it doesn’t go up the parchment paper.
  • Start the steaming process…Put enough water in large pots so it only goes halfway up the tins.
  • Boil the water without the tins in the pots, then after boiling turn the heat to low, place the muffin tins in the pot, cover  with the lid and let steam for 2 hours.

DSC_0025x DSC_0031x DSC_0035x DSC_0042x

If you chose to do it in the oven in a larger pan (bundt pan works best, otherwise a medium baking pan does just fine)…
preheat oven to 300 F before placing pudding in. Bake for an hour or until pudding it set and lightly browned on top.

This is what they look like after… so good!

DSC_0055x

Now it’s time to make the delicious lemon sauce!

Mix well in small-medium sauce pot.

DSC_0051x

Cook on medium-low until clear & thick.

EAT!

DSC_0062x

Matt fell in love with this. I made it the day before we left to go back to CO and he devoured them. I loved it because it tasted similar to pumpkin bread but with a more tart flavor. My grandparents loved it as well (yay! original-baker approved!) I made the lemon sauce with cornstarch instead of the egg but my grandma notes it tasted the same, the only difference is if it is made with the egg it is lighter in color and not quite as thick.

Enjoy! 🙂

Thanks grandma!

Printable Recipe Here

Leave a Reply

