Newlywed Recipes – Strawberry Salad

I have had a handful of recipes given to me for my wedding/bridal shower and was
dying to try one out. I’m so used to making my usual chopped salad
but wanted a variety! This salad was DELICIOUS!

DSC_0112x

My Aunt Heidi has always been famous in my family for her desserts… every time we get together it is her desserts that stand out. But she’s obviously got more than good baking skills up her sleeves, this salad was a huge hit with my hubby and I as well as everyone at our community group who tested it out for us 🙂

 My Aunt and her beautiful family are the furthest ones on the right…

Jessica&Matt-396

I was also given a similar recipe from Dorothy Elwell, a great family
friend of many years. I stuck more with my Aunt’s recipe but used the salad
bowl & spoons we received as a gift from Dorothy 🙂

I DARE you to try this recipe out… you really can’t lose with this one 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. Sesame Seeds
  • 1 Tbsp. Poppy Seeds
  • 1 Tbsp. Paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce (there are quite a few vegan varieties out there if you look)
  • 1 1/2 tsp Fresh Minced Onion
  • 1/2 cup oil (Veg or Olive… I used half & half of each)
  • 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Strawberries (I used 1 1/2 pints, could use more or less depending on taste)
  • 2-3 bunches Spinach (depending on whether it is regular or baby spinach)

Mix first 6 Ingredients.
DSC_0087x

(I like to put it in a small container so I can shake it up…much easier!)

DSC_0088x

Yummmm…

Add oil, ACV & refrigerate for 30 min – 1 hour
(you can omit this step but it allows the flavors to combine)

DSC_0094x

Wash, pat dry & cut spinach…

DSC_0096x

Slice strawberries & add to spinach…

DSC_0100x

Add dressing just before serving & mix.

DSC_0112x

ENJOY!!

Printable recipe here


P.S. Matt and I celebrated our 6 month anniversary the 29th. Complete with chocolate-covered strawberries, popcorn, and our beautiful crystal (thanks Abletts)! I can’t believe it has already been 6 months, time is sure flying by! SO blessed!

DSC_0117

…and I am still in love with my beautiful (heirloom) ring!

DSC_0026xx copy

Leave a Reply

