Newlywed Recipes – Barb’s Tequila Lime Chicken

Now this recipe is not only so flavorful & tasty but such a cinch to make!
I love EASY yummy recipes!

I got this recipe from my family’s long time neighbor Barb. Her daughter Heather babysat my sisters and me when we were young, her son Sean always brought us back snow when he’d visit the mountains, her & her husband Phil would always leave us Christmas gifts on our doorstep and let us come over to swim all the time and now their 2 grandkids are so much fun to be around. Maddie is such a sweetheart and we knew her brother Patrick would grow up to be a smart kid- at the age of 2 he was telling us he wanted to be a paleontologist, and he pronounced it right and everything! We have been so blessed to have such wonderful neighbors on our block and truly appreciate all the love they’ve given us, from always having flour & butter to share when we run out baking, to watching our house when we’re on vacation and just sharing life together!

204377_10150252051766124_3360506_o

DSC_0011x

Barb gave me this cookbook for my bridal shower and it is one of my favorite gifts because of how personal and creative it is! Every page in this ‘scrapbook’ is decorated with cute stickers, paper & quotes with sleeves to put my new recipes in. SUPER creative, right? 🙂

DSC_0012 DSC_0015

This recipe is GF if using a GF tequila (I believe Patron & Jose Cuervo products are safe)

Barb’s Tequila Lime Chicken
(serves 6)

  • 6 Chicken breasts or thighs- skinless, boneless
  • 1 cup gold tequila
  • juice from 6 limes
  • juice of 2 oranges
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. Kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper (optional….but so tasty when added!)

Now this recipe is so easy I didn’t think I needed to take pictures of me
placing the chicken into the juice. Please forgive me if you disagree 😉

  1. Mix together all ingredients except chicken.
  2. Place chicken in a 1 gallon Ziploc bag and pour liquid ingredients into bag.
  3. Seal bag & massage a little into chicken.
    (You can also pour the ingredients directly into the bag to save a dish but sometimes its a bit hard holding it up to squeeze the juice)
  4. Place bag into a bowl and refrigerate 2-3 hours or overnight.
    (I only did 2 hours and it still had SO much flavor, I can only imagine what marinating it more will make it taste like, yum!)
  5. Grill or bake in 425 degree oven until internal temp. reaches 166 degrees for 20 -30 minutes.
    (It was way too cold outside to grill so we put it in the oven for 16 minutes, then placed on our panini grill for about 8 minutes until it cooked through)

DSC_0006x

ENJOY!

I served it with a side of brown cilantro lime rice (think Chipotle style),
black beans and flour tortillas.

DSC_0011x

This chicken had the most flavor I have ever tasted, hands down.

It was juicy and absolutely delicious. Thanks Barb for such a delicious recipe!

Printable Recipe Here

Leave a Reply

