Chicken and Rice Soup

I first made this soup when I came back from visiting family in CA. My sister had the first child out of us girls and I got to meet the little cutie when he was born. I am so thankful to have been able to be there when he was born and hold him. He is just such a precious little guy… I’m an auntie!! YAY!!

However, I have a tendency to get sick everytime I take a flight- luckily I stayed healthy on my way to CA and during my time there. I would have been very upset if I was sick and wasn’t able to be near baby Jack. So I can’t complain but boy did it hit me when I got back to Colorado, the day after returning home I started getting a sore throat and feeling sick. I loaded up on Vitamin C, echinacea tea and made sure to do my nasal rinses. But I was unsuccessful and the flu hit. Fever, sore throat, sinus infection, everything. My appetite was still going strong though so I whipped up some chicken and rice soup and Matt and I couldn’t believe how well it came out from not using a recipe.

Chickenand RiceSoup

I have made this at least 3 times since and I am still loving it. I have tweaked
a few things to make it perfect and I always have leftovers in the freezer
so I can heat up a cup of soup whenever I feel like it.
(tip: freeze leftovers in silicone muffin cups to allow easy
removing and perfect sizes for portions and reheating!)

What I love about this soup recipe is that the contents don’t get mushy when reheating.
I dice the veggies very small so they don’t have to be super soft when
eating which allows reheats without compromising the texture. I also use rice instead
of noodles so they don’t get mushy and it’s gluten free!

Here you go!
Did I mention red bell peppers have more vitamin C than
oranges do? Just another reason I love this recipe!

Chicken and Rice Soup

– 1 cup rice, uncooked

– 1 Chicken Breast

– 6-7 cups Chicken broth

– 2.5 cups water

– 2 Tbsp butter (for diary free use coconut oil or Earth Balance)

– 4 tbsp cornstarch

– 1 Tbsp coconut oil (or olive)

– 1 red bell pepper

– 2 Carrots

– 2 stalks Celery

–  pinch garlic powder

– 1/4 tsp onion powder

– salt & pepper, to taste

Cook rice in pot or rice cooker.

Bring medium saucepan with water to boil. Once the water is boiling,
place chicken in and wait until cooked.

While chicken is cooking, dice veggies into small chunks.

DSC_0424sm

Shred chicken.
I use my Nutribullet or food processor to finely shred the chicken.

Heat oil in large soup pan.

Place veggies in pan with oil, sauté over medium heat until slightly soft.

DSC_0439sm

Heat chicken broth and water in soup pan with veggies over medium high heat.

In medium frying pan, heat butter until melted and add cornstarch, 1 Tbsp at a time.

Mix cornstarch and butter until thoroughly combined, forming a paste.

DSC_0451sm

Add cornstarch paste to chicken broth/veggies.

Add cooked rice and shredded chicken right before serving.

ENJOY!! 🙂

P.S. The husband and I love to add spice to almost every meal, so we usually add cayenne pepper to this soup. It adds a little kick and also helps clear those sinuses!

DSC_0459sm

DSC_0467sm

Printable Recipe Here

Leave a Reply

