Orange Chicken and Broccoli

Anyone who knows me knows that I have a love for Asian food… sushi, orange chicken, you name it. However since I have sensitivities to MSG and processed food I rarely go out to eat Chinese or Japanese food. My sister-in-law’s husband is Chinese and when they lived back in Downey he would often make orange chicken and other delicious meals for my husband’s family. So of course I asked for one of his recipes and I am SO glad I did!

DSC_0065

Daniel’s Orange Chicken & Broccoli Recipe

(The original recipe was for Orange Beef. I rarely eat beef so I changed it around just a tad to go better with chicken and because I didn’t have fresh ginger on hand. Thanks Daniel!!)

*This recipe is also great for beef, but I would make the following adjustments: reduce sugar by 1 Tbsp and add crushed red chili peppers.

Ingredients

  • 3 chicken breasts (or about 6 tenderloins)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar (you can also do half rice wine vinegar & half ACV)
  • 2 tbsp orange juice concentration
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce or soy sauce alternative
  • ¼ cup cornstarch
  • 2 tsp orange zest
  • ½ to 1 tbsp ginger powder, depending on preference (we usually put 1 tbsp)
  • 1½ tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 ½ cups oil for frying
  • Srirachi (optional, if adding, add when mixture is thickening or drizzle on top of finished chicken)
 
Cut chicken into bite-sized squares and let dry on paper towels in refrigerator (30 minutes).

DSC_0024

Add orange zest, ginger and minced garlic to small bowl & set aside.

DSC_0027

In a small bowl, mix together the sugar, rice vinegar, orange juice concentrate, salt and soy sauce.  Set aside. 

DSC_0023

Cut broccoli & place in boiling water to blanch.
(Instructions for blanching found here)

DSC_0038

DSC_0047

Heat oil in a pan or wok over medium-high heat.
Toss dried chicken in cornstarch to coat.
Fry in the hot in small batches until crispy and golden brown; set aside.
Drain all of the oil from the pan except about 1 tablespoon.

DSC_0039

Add orange zest mixture to pan and cook briefly until fragrant.

DSC_0042

Add the soy sauce mixture to pan, bring to a boil, and cook until thick and syrupy, about 5 minutes.

DSC_0044

DSC_0051

Add chicken, and heat through, stirring to coat. 
DSC_0056
Serve immediately over steamed rice, and garnish with broccoli. 
ENJOY!

DSC_0061

Printable Recipe Here

4 thoughts on “Orange Chicken and Broccoli

  1. Wooow!! Two of the stuffs I love: Orange and Broccoli!! Is there any substitute for rice wine vinegar?! I meant can I use 1/3 cup of ACV instead of making half-half?

Leave a comment